• 27
  • 09
  • 2019
  • 07.30
  • pm

Hey! Manchester presents Gratis: Granfalloon w/ Oh Man, The Mountain

Please note this is an 18+ event

Granfalloon present RGB, their second album showcasing their hybrid of lo-fi, folk, indie, & electronica. The album weaves oddball elements, such as Omnichords, guitars, and vintage drum loops, into dreamy songs and cinematic soundscapes. It is out this September on 12″ vinyl and all streaming platforms.

Among the many textures of this album is the Omnichord, the electronic auto-harp developed by Japanese electronics company Suzuki in the 1980’s. Its ‘unicorn tears’ sound giving many of the tracks on the album a woozy feel – existing in those moments between sleep and waking.

The album was recorded in Manchester between John Ellis’ Limefield Studio, WR Audio, and their own studio, The Dogan. Granfalloon frontman, Richard Lomax produced the lion’s share of the album but the band also worked with producer Andrew Glassford (One Little Atlas), and Australian electronic artist/producer Jack Prest (Jonti/Sampa The Great) to great effect.

Granfalloon began as the recording project of Richard Lomax, a producer and constant songwriter. Lomax has previously released two albums with anarchic folk collective Johnny5thWheel&thecowards including TalesOf ( “a work of genius” – Whisperin’ & Hollerin’ + “one of the finest folk-pop records of the year” – God Is In The TV) through Sotones Records (Band Of Skulls/The Moulettes). Both J5W albums were named in many blogs’ top albums of the year.

After moving to Manchester in 2013, Lomax wrote and recorded 52 songs in 2014 (one per week) for the album Calendar – an ephemeral musical document of the year which saw him collaborate with different artists from week to week including future Granfalloon collaborator, synth player, Peer Van See.

After the album’s release in 2015 he put together the sonic palette for Granfalloon’s mixture of folk and electronica (folktronica), and recorded the debut Granfalloon album, Down There For Dancing, working with guitarist Dave Bertram, whose guitar lines run like liquid silver throughout the 2017 album.

To launch the second album, the band’s three piece core has expanded to five with the addition of Jim Molyneaux on drums and Hannah Ashcroft on vocals and guitar.

You May Also Be Interested In